LGBTI groups and leaders call for parliament to block the plebiscite and provide a parliamentary pathway

LGBTI groups and leaders call for parliament to block the plebiscite and provide a parliamentary pathway

A network of almost 90 LGBTI organisations and leaders have again come together releasing a statement calling for parliament to block the plebiscite legislation.

Director of Advocacy at the Human Rights Law Centre and Australians for Equality (A4E) Co-Chair, Anna Brown said we want to see an end to the proposed plebiscite so that we can move forward towards a parliamentary process to achieve marriage equality in this term of parliament.

 “This network of LGBTI leaders and organisations wishes to reinforce that the most efficient and effective way of achieving marriage equality is a vote in the parliament. 

 “This joint statement is about ensuring that a wide and diverse range of LGBTI groups across the nation have their voices heard by our parliamentarians,” Ms Brown said.

 “The continuing campaign for marriage equality has galvanised the LGBTI and the wider Australian community. As we move forward it is great to see so many organisations from across the nation engaged and coming together for equality,” Australian Marriage Equality, Co-Chair, Alex Greenwich said.

“We want our elected representatives to come together to block the plebiscite and then find a way forward towards marriage equality.

“Marriage equality has majority support both in the public and in Parliament, therefore it is entirely reasonable to hope and ask for this reform to be delivered this term, as soon as possible,” Mr Greenwich concluded.

The full statement can be found here.


List of Signatories (as of 19/10/2016)

Acceptance Melbourne


Aleph Melbourne

Rowena Allen, (Gender & Sexuality Commissioner, Dept of Premier & Cabinet, Victoria)

Ambassadors & Bridge Builders International

Dr Gávi Ansara

Asian Australian Rainbow Alliance (AAuRA)

Australian Catholics for Equality

Australian GLBTIQ Multicultural Council

Australian Lawyers for Human Rights LGBTI Rights Subcommittee

Australian Marriage Equality

Australian Transgender Support Association Queensland

Australians for Equality

Michael Barnett

Black Rainbow

Dameyon Bonson

Brave Network Melbourne

Brisbane Gay and Lesbian Business Network

Brisbane LGBTI Action Group

Carmen Rupe Memorial Trust

Karen Christie

Florence Chen

Meg Clark

Connect for Life Tasmania


Johann De Joodt

Anne-Marie Delahunt

Harley Dennett

DiGS Equality

Diversity Launceston

DIY Rainbow

Kate Doak

Maxine Drake

Dreamtime Divas

Suzanne Eastwood

Equal Marriage Rights Australia

Kristyana Finch

Jamie Gardiner

Geelong Pride Games

Gender Diversity Alliance South Australia

Gender Help for Parents


Kelly Glanney


Christine Healy

Brendan Heck

Aram Hosie

Mandy How

Corey Irlam

Kristine Johnson

Sharon Jones

Lesbians in the Shoalhaven Area

LGBTI Legal Service

LGBTI Rights Unit of the Human Rights Law Centre

Lynne O’Brien

Marhaba Melbourne

Marriage Equality Gilmore

Dr. Ruth McNair

Metropolitan Community Church – Melbourne

Jane Elizabeth Moore

Muslims Against Homophobia

National LGBTI Health Alliance

New South Wales Gay and Lesbian Rights Lobby

Northern Territory AIDS and Hepatitis Council

OII Australia

Stephen Page



Pink Mountains

Pride in Diversity

Queer Muslims Sydney

Queer Screen

Rainbow Families

Rosh Pinah: An Affirming Orthodox Jewish Network

Krishna Sandha

Sydney Gay and Lesbian Business Association

Sydney Gay Meditation Group

Transgender Equality Alliance

Transgender Victoria

Uniting Network

Anthony Venn-Brown

Victorian AIDS Council

Victorian Gay and Lesbian Rights Lobby

Wear Rainbow

Veronica Wensing

Annie Whitehead

Tushara Wickramariyaratne